Works Caryfortpress
Goethe's Singspiel, 'Claudine von Villa Bella' Claudine von Villa Bella

Goethe's Singspiel, 'Claudine von Villa Bella'

Edited by : Lorraine Byrne & Dan Farrelly

Publication Date 23rd, May, 2003

ISBN 0-9544290-0-1

Cost 15.00

Goethe's Singspiel in three acts was set to music by Schubert in 1815 after a period in which his engagement with Goethe's Faust had given rise to his first masterpiece and a flood of Goethe settings. Only Act One of Schuberts's Claudine score is extant, since Act Two and Act Three were largely destroyed - reputedly burnt as fuel by Joseph Huttenbrenner's servants during the revolution in 1848.

The present volume makes Act One available for performance in English and German.It comprises both a piano reduction by Lorraine Byrne of the original Schubert orchestral score and a bilingual text.The latter is based on Goethe's 1788 version and has been translated for the modern stage by Dan Farrelly. This is a tale, wittily told, of lovers and vagabonds, romance, reconciliation, and resolution of family conflict.



There are no reviews for this book at present.


About the Author(s)

There is no available information about this author at present.


Table of Contents

There are no Table of Contents for this publication at present.


See also...